Author Topic: Great Distro and a couple of things I'm not understanding  (Read 6361 times)

stabbmesiter

Hello Everyone,

Very neat distro, thank you. Not attacking in the least, just trying to understand a bit more.
Very quick and responsive and loaded using approx' 250mb!
I enjoy a good tinker of an OS and makes a change from arch and slackware, though in truth Bodhi linux is very good and currently my current most used.

Apologies if I have some of the basics wrong. I'm a user not a developer/technical person.

Running miyolinux (and hats off to this openbox config, very good and dig the name...'make it your own'). I have run across a few issues. Same issues encountered on nutyx 10.5 stable.  Not really problems just things I would like to resolve.

I fully expect that these 'issues' are down to my lack of knowledge but thought I'd post anyway.

Things I would like to resolve, no order of priority.

cards
cards pkgmanager is good though I would like to be able to see the dependencies of a package before I install it. I tend to use cli as flcards seems to use a lot of cpu cycles as per conky/htop/lxtask, using about 25% of total cpu. Worried that installing some gnome application will load all of the gnome DE.

keyboard
Having to setxkbmap in autostart (openbox) for my choice of keyboard as layout didn't work/set in the install (and isn't setup quick!). Files necessary to config this aren't present so can I just go ahead and create directories and populate or am I missing a package?
/lib/kbd/keymaps/i386/ is missing
/lib/kbd/consolefonts/ is missing
/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-keyboard.conf is there (typo in the nutyx manual, manual says /etc/X11/xorg.xonf.d/20-keyboard.conf)

acpi
Unable to load acpid (via /etc/sysconfig/modules - is this how I should load it?)
manual 'modprobe -v acpid' fails with modprobe: FATAL: Module acpid not found in directory /lib/modules/4.14.96-NuTyX-lts