Author Topic: Mouse and keyboard not working after install  (Read 7395 times)

schwedenmann

Mouse and keyboard not working after install
« on: Sun Jan 29 11:33:26 2017 »
Hallo

I am new to NuTyx

I have installed latest NuTyX (for testing purpose), all went fine, except the two things mentioned in the title. I made "get xorg lxdm firefox icewm (or openbox) xterm idesk" all went good, but after reboot I could get mouse or keyboard working.

Must I put a minimal xorg.conf for mouse and keyboard under /etc ?
Thats an obsolete action, since xorg detect mouse and keyboard automatic, so what do do, to get a working mouse and keyboard.

schwedenmann

Thierry

• Administrator
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Mouse and keyboard not working after install
« Reply #1 on: Sun Jan 29 16:33:24 2017 »
Hello schwedenmann

Welcome to the forums.

As your NuTyX was working fine untill you reboot, I think you have several partitions with several distributions (means several kernels). You probably adjust your grub.cfg  and by mistake NuTyX is now using another kernel from another partition. So to fix that it's very simple: Make shure to specify the line:

set root=(hdX,Y) in your entry. Reread the explaination in the picture below, then will be crystal clear.

If still problems, provides us a detail on your harddisk layout

schwedenmann

« Reply #2 on: Sun Jan 29 17:29:06 2017 »
Halle

@Tnut

Sorry, but you have misunderstood me.

nytyx is on a multiplelinuxbootpc (10Linux, just for test purpose ;D)
nytyx is on 1 partition (sda14) and I am booting the whole pc per grub2 from sda2. Booting works fine, i got to the login-manager (lxdm) , but I cannot mouve the mouse-cursor, nor could I type anything with keyborad. I have mounted sda14 from another partition and there is only a minimal 20-config, for keyboard, in /etc.

schwedenmann

Thierry

• Administrator
    • NuTyX distribution
« Reply #3 on: Sun Jan 29 17:44:26 2017 »