Author Topic: Chromium --no-sandbox  (Read 1040 times)

constantius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Chromium --no-sandbox
« on: Tue Sep 28 09:46:33 2021 »
Thank you so much that your distro has returned to the world of the living :-))).  :) :) :) :)
Im using it 4 years.
Chrome and Chromium only works with the --no-sandbox option
Flatpack version does nt work.
Best regards

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Chromium --no-sandbox
« Reply #1 on: Wed Sep 29 07:57:58 2021 »
Quote
Thank you so much that your distro has returned to the world of the living
Great to read that from you.

Quote
Chrome and Chromium only works with the --no-sandbox option
I did observe the same on my machine. Spiky did upgrade chromium on the testing branch. They will be a chance that it works again in the next rolling release. Thanks for reporting.

Quote
Im using it 4 years.
As  NuTyX is now a rolling release since version 9.0.
Simple question for curiosity: Did you reinstall it since that time ?

Hope you will enjoy NuTyX another couple of years as we do.

Best Regards,
Thierry

constantius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Chromium --no-sandbox
« Reply #2 on: Sun Oct 03 07:52:10 2021 »
1. Yes. I use rolling edition. MATE sesktop.  But the last reinstall was i think 2 years ago. Now i think system is more mature. 
2. After upgrade chromium to 94 - output from command line
usr/lib/chromium/chromium: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/chromium/chromium: undefined symbol: FT_Get_Color_Glyph_ClipBox

solution from Arch Linux Forum.:  I had package freetype2-cleartype (2.10.2-1) installed: replaced it for freetype2 (2.11.0-3) and problem solved.

Freetype2 is needed
Best regards
« Last Edit: Sun Oct 03 08:10:35 2021 by constantius »

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 596
  • Karma: +10/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Chromium --no-sandbox
« Reply #3 on: Sun Oct 03 08:37:56 2021 »
Hi constantius

Thanks a lot for reporting that.

Yep my mistake now.

Forgot to upgrade freetype on rolling branch.  It should be there in a couple of minutes.

Best Regards.

Thierry