Author Topic: Calibre problem  (Read 575 times)

Dj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Calibre problem
« on: Thu Dec 29 15:23:24 2022 »
Hello!
I installed Calibre official way (by downloading from source).
No any icon, no way to open files with calibre.
 I can only start calibre via terminal.
Any ideas ?

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #1 on: Thu Dec 29 15:49:44 2022 »
Could you show us your recept

Dj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #2 on: Thu Dec 29 17:59:35 2022 »
I am confused, what to show ?

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #3 on: Thu Dec 29 18:34:15 2022 »
How did you build the package

Dj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #4 on: Thu Dec 29 20:26:45 2022 »
sudo -v && wget -nv -O- https://download.calibre-ebook.com/linux-installer.sh | sudo sh /dev/stdin

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #5 on: Thu Dec 29 22:47:58 2022 »
Hi Dj,
So Good news. I did run the script on my machine. Surprise everything is in place.

Icons and Launcher are in place. This is is very interesting. I will try to build a package.
Means  you will be able to install with cards soon.

BR,
Thierry

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #6 on: Fri Dec 30 12:31:24 2022 »
Hello Dj,

http://nutyx.org/en/?type=pkg&branch=rolling&arch=x86_64&searchpkg=calibre

Make sure first to remove your version of calibre, otherwise you will have a conflict with the binary of NuTyX.

Code: [Select]
sudo calibre-uninstall
Answer yes to remove Icons as well

Code: [Select]
sudo cards sync
sudo cards install calibre

You show me the error message.It will most probably complain of already files in place. That's because calibre-uninstall doesn't make a proper job

BR,
Thierry

bru65pag

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #7 on: Sun Jan 01 18:18:52 2023 »
Wonderful. I was actually thinking of creating a package for it, as a way to learn packaging. Where can I find the Pkgfile you created for calibre?

Thanks.

spiky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0

spiky

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #9 on: Sun Jan 01 22:47:03 2023 »
bru65pag
Why dont you join us in telegram https://t.me/groupnutyx
You would get quicker response to Questions

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 674
  • Karma: +12/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #10 on: Wed Jan 04 10:27:15 2023 »
Wonderful. I was actually thinking of creating a package for it, as a way to learn packaging. ...

Actualy this package is a very difficult exemple. I had to search a lot for my mistake. They  are a lot of specifics actions done in this package.

So probably the best example to start with.

I would say, start by reading through the all documentation. You can also check all my YouTube tutorials.

Good Luck,
Thierry

Dj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 40
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Calibre problem
« Reply #11 on: Fri Jan 06 11:18:13 2023 »
Installed from repo. Thank you!