Author Topic: cannot find gcc  (Read 345 times)

jk2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: +0/-0
cannot find gcc
« on: Thu Sep 14 15:43:42 2017 »
Hello,

I installed gcc (cards install gcc), however when I type "gcc" it gives "command not found".

Am I doing something wrong?

Sorry if this is very obvious.

datacollector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #1 on: Fri Sep 15 15:47:40 2017 »
same thing for i

cards files gcc|grep bin shows nothin the package i obviously incomplete

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #2 on: Fri Sep 15 15:52:55 2017 »
http://nutyx.org/en/build-package#4

Send from my smartphone

datacollector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #3 on: Fri Sep 15 15:54:44 2017 »
already found that but i think it would be the correct way to have the gcc binary into the gcc package :-)

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #4 on: Fri Sep 15 16:05:21 2017 »
Even if you never going to compile on your host NuTyX ?

Send from my smartphone

datacollector

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #5 on: Fri Sep 15 17:15:56 2017 »
of course why on earth would i install a package named gcc if i don't plan to compile using gcc

Man if i issue cards install gcc i sincerly expect that it install gcc :-D

kind regards

bozonius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #6 on: Sat Jun 09 01:47:30 2018 »
This thread is old, but still relevant (apparently).

Here is another reason why gcc(1) should be included in the package "gcc:"   Let's say all I want to do is build the VirtualBox Guest Additions.  I have to install a ton of packages in order to get the compiler, just so I can build the GA's.   This is a rather non-standard way of doing things, and one that has resulted in a long lesson in cards package organization.

Hopefully, I won't forget this when I go to install NuTyX on real hardware.  In order to run VMs, it may be the case that I will need to build some modules (which is also unusual).  I say this because while testing in a VM, I am unable to run a (32 bit) VM because it wants some module(s) built and loaded first.

Thierry

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 381
  • Karma: +4/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • NuTyX distribution
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #7 on: Sat Jun 09 10:35:46 2018 »
Another unique concept:

http://nutyx.org/en/dictionary#6

Note that ANY group can easily be removed, let's say your'e done with you compilation stuffs, just do a:

Code: [Select]
del devel


bozonius

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: cannot find gcc
« Reply #8 on: Sat Jun 09 16:17:12 2018 »
So every time VirtualBox releases a new version (about every 6 weeks), one must re-install the entire toolset, build the GA's, then remove the toolset again.

"Done" in this context may not be quite accurate.